New Post Emails Not Being Sent to Email Subscribers

Hi there,

I’ve had an issue where email subscribers to my blog aren’t receiving emails about my new posts. I’m a Pro user and I have emails enabled so I’m curious as to what the issue might be.

Thanks

Hi, could you share your username / blog with us, either here or privately @support? Then we can take a look into this.

My blog is Kool-Aid with Karan.

Thanks

Thanks. And just to help us debug, how are you finding that emails aren’t getting sent to subscribers? Have you subscribed to your blog yourself? And has everyone checked their Spam folder for the emails?

I am subscribed to my own blog and know several of my subscribers personally. Neither myself nor those I know who are subscribed have received a single post email dating back to last summer. We’ve checked the spam folder every time.

Got it. And how do you publish posts? On the web? Via the command line or email? If it’s on the web, are you publishing them straight to your blog? Or do you publish as an Anonymous post and then later move the post to your blog?

I always publish on the web. I publish an anonymous post and then move them to my blog.

Okay, so I would assume this is what’s happening:

Emails send on a 15 minute delay from the published date. That date is initially set when you publish the anonymous post, and then remains the same when you move it to your blog. So if you move it to your blog after that 15 minute window, the email won’t get sent.

To work around this, you could keep your publishing flow, but:

1. before moving the post to your blog, update the published date to the current date and time (by clicking the “now” button)
  2. then move it to your blog

That would make sure your posts always get emailed out.

Of course, I know that’s not an enjoyable workflow, so this is a bit of an open question as to how we solve this.