How is the community supposed to work?

Hi folks, I’m new to WriteFreely and am stuck on how the community (and Fediverse integration is supposed to work.)

From what I see:

• There is no way to comment on a blog post
  • While I can see WriteFreely posts in Mastodon, replies made in Mastodon are not visible in WriteFreely.
  • While you can mention WriteFreely users in WriteFreely, they don’t get notified.

I love the concept, but I’m really struggling on how you would get a conversation going in WF. I suspect I’m missing a key concept somewhere - can someone help me out?

I’ve had a blog for a veeeery long time (currently on WordPress) and appreciate the ability for passers-by to join the conversation. I think there’s a lot of potential there with ActivityPub integration but I can’t work out how it’s supposed to work from the WF side.

Hey @jgoerzen, happy to answer these questions.

First, I think it’s key to understand that overall, the fediverse integration is primarily a method of distribution. WriteFreely is built more as a focused publishing platform than a social platform, so we deliberately left some features out to start. Then, we defer to the rest of the web to handle the social aspects, from comments to connecting with friends and followers.

Now to answer your points:

We’ve decided to take a different tack with comments, and will be building them into a separate add-on / feature called Remark.as (see discussion here – I’d love to have your input!). This won’t feature on-the-page “comments” in the classical blog sense, but will instead allow interconnected commenting via blog posts and ActivityPub / Webmentions.

Right now, all interaction is meant to happen on more “social” platforms like Mastodon. So to start conversations, you might mention your Mastodon account from your WriteFreely blog post, as I’ve done at the end of this post, and then get notified and carry on the conversation there.