How archive my post history?

Currently I have three posts on my blog. They all appear inline on one page. So if a user wants to view some old blog they have to scroll through all of them. The only way around this is to “pin” a post but that throws it up there next to my “aboutme” page. I was hoping for a way to pin it to an archive or something. I’m not a css/javascript guy so I was hoping for an easy to way to …

• Pin (aka move) old posts to an archive
  • Only show recent post on front page

I’m extremely flexible here since I’m pretty new to blogging. However, with blogs I’ve seen you typically go to an archive where the title/date is shown which requires you to click on the link to take you to the article. The write.as guide didn’t point this out.

There’s not a way to do this out of the box yet, which is why there’s nothing about it in the guides. Definitely could be something done in the future.

However, there is a custom solution from the community that can create a blog archive for you. It’s outlined in this forum post here:

Open to other solutions people use too!

Just to clarify, I now have a static Archive page. But the previous Glitch powered Archive page app can still be found here. If you look at the Source for the app, in the Readme there is instructions on how to remix the app and make it work for your website.

Just for reference, my current Archive page is created by running a C# console application, that uses the Write.as .NET client/wrapper library I wrote, to generate the markdown text I need. Then I just manually copy paste the text into my pinned Archive page.

If there is interest, I can probably make a Blazor WASM app for it, where all you have to do is input your write.as alias and it will spit out the markdown text you need to copy over.

2 Likes