Custom Domain with Godaddy

I admit, I am new to setting up a custom domain with a provider. I have searched the forum and found a reference to my situation, but it was from 2019 and the information has changed layouts. I have purchased the domain I would like. I looked at the write.as document about what values need to be where, but honestly, I am not exactly sure which of these values with Godaddy match up.

• Do I need to create a new A record and delete the current one? I am guessing so as this is a parked command? and not an actual IP address.

• I am guessing I need to create an AAAA record?

• Do I change the second CNAME to the me.writeas.com address and just delete the first one?

Sorry for the confusion, but trying to get this right. I setup a custom email with a provider, but honestly, the instructions were a bit more clear with respect to that service.

Thanks for the help and looking forward to continuing my writings with a new service.

Don’t delete any of those. The first CNAME record is redirecting the www. version of your site link to the version without it because www. is technically a subdomain. The second one, I’m not sure, offhand. Something to do with GoDaddy (I don’t have one of those in my DNS Records on Namecheap).

Anyways, it depends how you’re trying to set this up. Do you want it to be the top level (www.your.site) or a subdomain (blog.your.site)?

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply.

I understand the difference between top and subdomains, but if I choose one now, can I change it to the other later? (Ie if I make it a top level, can I later change it to a subdomain?)

Thanks again.

I understand the difference between top and subdomains, but if I choose one now, can I change it to the other later? (Ie if I make it a top level, can I later change it to a subdomain?)

Yes. It’s all just a matter of changing the records.